Fish, a healthy start to the year

So for those of you that have read Healthy food tips will have realised I’m trying to fit in more fish than I’ve had recently so tonight is a double whammy – smoked kippers and trout with boiled new potatoes and steamed cauliflower. I’m going to assume you can managed the potatoes (reduced price new potatoes) and (reduced price) cauliflower yourselves? I’m fortunate enough to have been given many years ago a thick bottomed hob top three-tiered steamer which works well for me and is tried and tested (and “no” I still don’t add any salt).

For the fish then… nothing too complicated, my preferred method of fish cooking is to wrap in foil with a small knob of butter, a grind or two of seasoning, a splash of lemon and a tablespoon of boiling water per fish fillet and into the oven for quarter of an hour at a moderate heat. Quick, simple, retains flavour – trout and kipper both have fantastic flavour and again, as with all fish, I regularly pick up reduced price fish in the evenings at the larger supermarkets – especially those with fresh fish counters.

Leave a Reply

